CHRIS ON RAILS

a personal weblog of everything nice

Last thoughts on the S&S internship August 8, 2007

Filed under: Internship,Simon & Schuster — allyouneediscourage @ 9:07 pm

S&S logo

So…last Friday 8/03/07 was officially my last day interning at Simon & Schuster.  It was for the most part an incredible experience that provided me with valuable real world skills and knowledge.  I’ve been trying to figure out if there has been anything wrong with the internship, and the only thing I could come up with is that there wasn’t enough intern group events.  This was offset a little by interacting with 9 other interns for the group project.  Other than that, I enjoyed the work environment, the perks were good, I got free books, learned more than I could have imagined, it was paid, and it was in New York City.

Well…come to think of it, any internship that is in New York City and at a large company is automatically good.  There’s definitely a sense of drive and motivation you gain when you step foot onto Avenue of the Americas.  You look around and you see opportunities everywhere and people have a real sense of purpose.  For the first time, I didn’t dread going to work and I wasn’t a 5pm warrior, the kind of guy who works to see the weekend.  I worked to see the weekday.  Yeah I hated waking up at 6:40am, but it sure feels a lot better than waking up at noon and wasting entire days.

I left the internship with a glowing review from my manager about my work and more praise from HR on my group project.  I completed two projects doing work in ASP.NET 2.0 and MS SQL Server.  They were for the supply chain group at S&S and apparently my manager wasn’t just giving me bitch work, this was real shit.  It was stuff that consultants charge thousands of dollars to do.  Initially I had to clear a HUGE hurdle in learning ASP.NET 2.0 and MS SQL Server; two extremely comprehensive and somewhat complicated things that college failed to teach me…mostly because they are proprietary and enterprise level.  It took me 1 and 1/2 weeks to start doing real work and I kind of surprised myself with how fast I learned how to do things.

The end of internship group projects were great.  Most of them were funny and lots of people had good ideas.  My group did a blog…surprise surprise…and it turned out great.  We also did skits and made a hardcover version of our blog to pass around.  It was a great way to end the internship, and I hope S&S considers an intern blog for the future because it really works as a way to socialize.

I have to say I’ve learned how it is to work among lots of women.  There were precisely 48 interns and only 5 guys.  Most of the group lunches, I just sat and listened to 9 girls talk about random shit.  So…what I’m trying to say is I think I’ve become a better listener.  Also, I think I prefer working among lots of women…it works out better because they’ll be so entrenched in drama with other women in the workplace that you’ll be like a breath of fresh air.  I am not making this up.

Right now, I’m just getting some R&R and eventually I’ll be looking for another internship and/or finding a full time job.

 

Leave a Reply

